On A Country Drive; Flowers, Steer, Horse (Not Playing Hooky)

Where I had to go today was about 70 miles away. Instead of the main highways and byways, my friend and I decided to take a more indirect path down back roads. If you’ve been to my writer’s site, here, you’ve probably met my friend’s cute little dog, Gertrude. She came along for the ride.

Gertrude thinks that my seat belongs to her, which is true when I’m not in the truck. I love G, but I want her to act like a cat in the truck and just curl up and go to sleep. G has a bad addiction. G jumps up and flies to the back seat to get to a window to bark ferociously every time a motorcycle goes by. That happens more frequently than you may think. I don’t think dogs should fly, especially in a moving vehicle that I am in. Oh, well, ya gotta love her.

My pictures today start with a vase of incredibly bright beautiful flowers at the local Westport, WA espresso stand. A trip like this just begs for a nice triple jolt of caffeine. There are pictures of  wild flowers, berries and weeds, a horse, some steer, yard art and a cool sign. I hope you enjoy and do come back soon!

Pink Vase of Flowers at Captain Jack's. Phall Photo 2013

Pink Vase of Flowers at Captain Jack’s. These flowers are so bright, they make my eyes burn with happiness. Plus, they post our daily horoscope here and I have a #8 day ahead of me!
Phall Photo 2013

Goat farm; the sign says it all. Near Vesta, WA--where ever the hell that is? Phall Photo 2013

Goat ranch; the sign says it all. Near Vesta, WA–where ever the hell that is?
Phall Photo 2013

Canoe flower planter, Totem & Rose.  Phall Photo 2013

Canoe flower planter, Totem Pole & Rose.
Phall Photo 2013

Steer through tree branches and barbed wire. Phall Photo 2013

Steer through tree branches and barbed wire. He looks mean, but I love him. Not allowed to have steers where I live. My knowledge is lacking when it comes to cow’ish animals, but I like to learn. Please tell me if you know what he is.
Phall Photo 2013

Hairy brown steer behind (thankfully) barbed wire. Phall Photo 2013

Hairy brown steer behind (thankfully) barbed wire. He (there is a huge thing where teats should be) looks mean too, but in a sweet way, ya know? I love him.
Phall Photo 2013

tan furry steerette (not official species name) Phall Photo 2013

Tan Furry Steerette (not official species name). Maybe it’s the teats, but I love her. Cannot have steerette where I live. I’m so glad she has that awesome rack (horns not teats) to keep those bad boys away…when necessary:>) I’m very sad when we have to leave these new friends behind. I wish they had internet.
Phall Photo 2013

This is a little horse or a pony. I don't have much horseish knowledge either. Cute, but upset me because I kept trying to get it (no teats or big other thing that I can see) to look up, it wouldn't. Okay, it did look up for one fraction of a second and I missed the shot. Phall Photo 2013

This is a little horse or a pony. I don’t have much horse’ish knowledge either. Cute, but it upset me, because I kept trying to get it (no teats or big other thing that I can see) to look up, and it wouldn’t. Okay, it did look up for one fraction of a millisecond and I missed the shot. Look how its nose looks like a pig nose. It’s all furled trying to eat grass or daisies. Cute, but I don’t especially love it. Not like I love the cow’ish beasts
Phall Photo 2013

This is one of my faves. It's kinda poetic. A scorched tree stump draped in fireweed, which grows well in burnt forests. Phall Photo 2013

This is one of my faves. It’s kinda poetic. A scorched tree stump draped in fireweed, which grows well in burnt forests. This filled my heart with glee, I think, at least glee seems like the right word.  This is art.
Phall Photo 2013

Well, now I can’t get any more photos to load, so I will add more later.

Thanks for hanging out!

Patti

4 thoughts on “On A Country Drive; Flowers, Steer, Horse (Not Playing Hooky)

  1. I love the lookout tower thingy in Westport that overlooks the ocean, Of course i haven’t been there since i was about 5 either. I have family in Aberdeen still.

Leave a Reply

