My Best Photo of the Week Challenge – Week 7

Sunset shadow family finished clamming ; cold, wet, sandy, exhausted, but happy... PHALL PHOTO 2013

Sunset shadow family finished clamming; cold, wet, sandy, exhausted, but happy…
PHALL PHOTO 2013

I chose this as my best photo of the week, because of the deep orange-red dominating the photo, and the black human shadows that the setting sun has cast on the sand. This photo tells a story; the background ocean waves and the many sand piles made from the clam gun leavings, and then the bulging sacks of clams that the anonymous shadow people are carrying away with them .

From  http://weliveinaflat.wordpress.com/2013/10/9/my-best-photo-of-the-week-mbpotw-challenge-week-7/

challenge badge

9 thoughts on “My Best Photo of the Week Challenge – Week 7

  1. Thanks for joining! I was wondering what those vertical columns those silhouettes of people were carrying and then I read that these people were there for clams. Interesting! Love how the sunset brings out the figures without showing who they are. Makes me study their body language and movement more. I imagine they are a family with child returning satisfied after a day well spent at sea. 🙂 The warm light and shadow contrasting with the blue and purple of the distant waves and sand piles and the shadowed sand in the foreground works beautifully 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Best Photo of the Week (MBPOTW) Challenge – week 8 | We Live In A Flat

  3. Pingback: Living with a dog – issue 12 | We Live In A Flat

  4. Pingback: My Best Photo of the Week (MBPOTW) Challenge - week 8 | We Live In A Flat

Leave a Reply

